Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

First Project

Greetings. Many of you don't know me but I have been hanging out here for a few years. I have been coming to the Meniscus gatherings whenever time permits. I have wanted to try my hand at designing something, but lack many tools/skills - many of them being woodworking related. Well, I ended up getting these cabinets at Meniscus the other day (good to see you, Ben). Special thanks to Mark & Meniscus for the great deal!

So, now I guess I need to get started planning and working on a design for these cabinets. It will likely take me a long time to finish these as I'm effectively a complete noob. These cabinets are about 12 1/4" H x 8.5" W x 12 3/8" D (internal 10.75" H x 7" W x 10.5" D). This results in about 12.95 liters not including ports/bracing/etc. I'm guessing about 12 liters net. I've started looking at woofers that might work in this cabinet. I'm thinking for a first project I'd like to keep it fairly budget friendly but still with good performance. The following drivers look like viable candidates:

• SB15MFC30 (both 4 & 8 ohm)
  • SB15NBAC30 (both 4 & 8 ohm)
  • SB15CAC30-4
  • SB15NRX2C30-8
  • Seas U16RCY/P (this one is starting to get a little pricy but probably doable)
  • Seas L16RNX3 (this one looks promising but is probably out of my budget range)
  • Scan-Speak 15W/4531G00 (this was the woofer originally intended for these cabinets, but is also probably out of my budget)

Right now, I've been mostly leaning towards the SB15MFC or Seas U16 as they seem to have smooth responses and might be easier to work with.

I haven't really thought about tweeters yet. Not a requirement, but I was thinking about trying for LR2 crossover, so had been thinking about the Seas DXT tweeter to help with the z-axis alignment.