Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

Dynaudio drivers anyone?

CSS has been approached by a company going out of business that wants to sell us NOS 50pcs Dynaudio 17W75 XL 04 woofers and 50pcs Dynaudio D21/2 tweeters. We're considering doing a limited run TM bookshelf kit, but at the asking price, this would directly compete with the 1TD-X, so it doesn't make a ton of sense for us. Any interest here in a kit, a set of drivers, or even the whole 100pc lot? They're asking $5k for the lot (plus $300 shipping), which comes out to $50/driver, but we'd have to sell for at least double that to make it worth the risk.

hifisideAnalogkid455

Comments

• https://site.diy-loudspeakers.com/images/datasheets/loudspeakers/dynaudio/WOOFERS/DYNAUDIO_17W75XL.pdf

I'm a driver junkie - they look interesting and like possible NS10M woofer substitute . . . Maybe . . .

• I bought a pair of those Dynaudio 17W75XL's from Craig K many years ago. Their T/S parameters were very different than the manufacturer's. Possibly could have been from sitting on a shelf unused for a decade or two (cone sag?). Anyway the pair I had couldn't possibly be used in a ported enclosure so I stuck them in aperiodic enclosures (sealed with variovents). They sounded very good but definitely needed a sub(s) for the last octave or two. The pair I bought had stamped steel frames. Do these have cast frames?

Steve_Lee
  • That does not seem like a good deal for bulk NOS pricing. Seems like they are trying to sell them at cost or a little over. I doubt many of us would pick those drivers compared to newer offerings in that price range. I don't think these stand a chance against the 1TDx.

Analogkid455
  • @PWRRYD said: