Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

Driver longevity

There are a bunch of Peerless CSX woofers available locally at a nice price. I'm looking at these and thinking, these CSX 10" drivers are cheaper and probably very competitive with say, the lower end plastic frame SB series, or the Dayton  Designer series.. But I hesitate knowing that these must be 20+ year old drivers. How much life can be left in them? 

I have limited experience with this. I have some 90s vintage commercial speakers using SEAS poly cone rubber surround midwoofers.  The rubber has become... 'dried out' for lack of a better word - lost it's suppleness and feels more like unheated heat-shrink tubing than supple rubber. I don't have original specs for the woofers so can't say how much this has shifted the TS parameters. On the other hand, I have my ACI spirits which were built some 25 years ago, and the vifa p21 woofers in those seem to be holding up fairly well. And I see a thriving trade in some vintage JBL and KEF woofers that must be even older.

Is this a concern for you with your older drivers? Do other soft parts or even the motor degrade with age somehow? Where do you draw the line on older drivers? How old is too old for you?

Comments

• the two things i am aware of is surround rot if it is untreated foam - the CSX 10 are not, so that's fine. The next thing is cone / suspension sag.... the only remedy for that is to store the drivers upside down for a few months and hope they spring back. usually there will be a little sag and not too drastic, so if you are using drivers of the same age / sag then it should be fine, but mixing very old drivers and new ones, there will be change in T/S due to the sag between the new/old ones.