Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

Audible Physics +? build

124»

Comments

• I'm not good at this terminology thing.  When you notch? the tweeter resonance. 
  • That's why I just start with an amp friendly schematic in software, and spend tons of time measuring. I don't have the patience to dial in the offsets in software - I'd rather invest that time understanding the off axis stuff. Most, if not all, software uses a pistonic model to predict power response. Cone geometry and breakups make that model have limited value. 

Also, next time you measure reverse null, move the mic a few degrees or inches in any direction. Be careful about optimizing for that null, you are actually optimizing to a listening position and you can lose sight of the big picture.
    I have a signature.
  • Should I be taking measurements at the listening position for a broader picture? 
  • Noo.... More of a reverse null fetish.  It leads to a narrow focus. I'm on my phone, I can expand later, but the biggest reason to focus on offset is to get a pretty reverse null in software. Minimizing iterations to a predicted result is secondary. 
    I have a signature.
  • Do you mean using a zobel to flatten out the lower frequency resonance.  Or do you mean the rst28a cone breakup resonance in the upper frequency region?  
  • Had to open Winpcd where it is called a series notch filter.  Even with a fairly steep acoustic slope, I felt using it with an xt25tg made a noticeable difference on certain voices but with the rst28a, the knee around its resonance does not appear as distinguished.  It would simplify the crossover it it were not needed.