Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

Big Mac Boy's Boombox

I want to build my BIL a boombox. My plan is to make an active 2-way with DSA115-8 woofers and Dayton Audio KADB-430 board. I haven't decided on tweeters yet.

https://parts-express.com/Dayton-Audio-DSA115-8-4-Designer-Series-Aluminum-Cone-Woofer-295-524?quantity=1

https://parts-express.com/Dayton-Audio-KABD-430-4-x-30W-Bluetooth-Amp-Board-with-DSP-325-430?quantity=1

This is the sim for the woofer.

I'd like to try to use a passive radiators but the PE DSA passives seem to be tuned way too low. I need to tune to 63Hz but the passive radiator is already tuned to 28Hz. I've never worked with passive radiators before so, am I missing something or do the marketing folks think they will sell better if they all have a really low but unusable Fs?

https://parts-express.com/Dayton-Audio-DSA135-PR-5-Designer-Series-Aluminum-Cone-Passive-Radiator-295-546?quantity=1

Ron

Comments

• edited December 2023

That is just it's natural Fs and doesn't really play into how it will work in your enclosure. Similar to the way any given diameter and length port will tune different in different size enclosures. I just plonk the info in winISD and it will give you an idea what will/won't work. If the PR gives too low of an enclosure tune with no added weight it will have a rolled off response not unlike a sealed enclosure. If it has a humped response then you can add weight to drop the enclosure tune down to flatten it out.

However keep an eye on the PR excursion. As you add weight and power it will boost excursion.

• edited December 2023

Looks like that amp actually is listed to do the rated 30watts into 8ohms.