Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

Solder Recommendations (another PE let down)

edited April 2017 in DIY
Here we go again with PE just peddling sub-par stuff. I know I am not suppose to say these things since I am in the "design team" this year, but everything I get from them lately is garbage. 

Latest is their 4% silver solder. I have been using the PE 4% for literally DECADES. I just opened a new roll last build and noticed it was hard to work with. 

I then noticed it was EATING my solder tips because the flux is so agressive. 

It destroyed the tip on my radio shack gun that has been on there for nearly 5 years, and just ate through 3 effing tips on my 60W iron while soldering the ACG crossovers. 

What do you guys use, preferably silver bering, that you would recommend?

Comments

• I've been using Kester 60/40 for about 30 years in everything from audio to automotive, never had a complaint with it. I don't generally see the need or benefit of silver solder.

Should also notify PE, could be a bad batch or defective product and if I was them I'd want to know.

Thanks!
    Javad
    jleaman
  • Kester.
    ............. could you hum a few bars.
  • Tenma solder ;) Kester, also.
  • Kester 63/37 for me - I bought two spools from work years ago and am still winding my way through it. It is not a flux core, however, so I have to apply flux to everything. 
    I have a signature.
  • I'm with JR. I've used 63/37 for years. You'll never have a cold solder joint with it. However, I think mine is a flux core version.

Jim
  • After quite a bit of research, the major change in PEs silver bering solder is a lack of copper. Just about all solder tips are a tinned copper. When the tinning becomes compromised, the copper begins to chemically absorb into the solder.