Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

New member alanhuth

Hello, Everybody,

I'm Alan Huth, newbie DIY addict. I'm an operations engineer and turnaround practitioner.  I just finished my first project, a Tritrix for my son's dorm room.  It worked out very well functionally.  The speakers sounded better than my B&W 603 S3 floor-standers.  Now that the hook has sunk in a little, I'm eager to build another Curt Campbell design, the Halcyons.  I chose them because of Curt's reputation and because the size and minimal wall distance fit my cramped space limitations.  And King of the Castle means "do what your told" in this castle.  She Who Must Be Obeyed (Rumpole of the Bailey??) is not fond of highly visible furniture not selected by Herself.  

I've been having a difficult time finding anybody who has built them for their opinion and (hopefully) suggestions for a successful build.  I'm also looking for someone to build or at least finish cabinets for me (NE Illinois) as I'm not sure I want to go through the whole veneer/stain process again.  That was painful and the results were modestly passable.  Ethan Allen would not be impressed.  

I'm trying not to become someone who listens to speakers instead of music, but that genie is hard to put back in the bottle.  Even with tinitis and limited hearing above 10khz, I still think about brighness, tweeter dispersion, do these Halcyons need a super-tweeter, etc.  

Comments

• I was trying to put this in the Introduce Yourself section, but evidently didn't.  Is there a way to move it, or delete it and re-enter in the right place?
  • Welcome to the forum Alan.  I'm in North central IL (Rockford).  I would offer to help you but veneering and finishing is my least favorite part (even dreaded at times lol).
  • edited November 2019
    welcome !