Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

Adventures in painting

edited March 2022 in DIY

I have wanted to do a build that was half paint and half veneer - I have never done a painted box before so I decided to give it a go! Needless to say the results were terrible :/ I prepped the boxes with about 4 coats of shellac and got some Rust-Oleum paint & primer - even with super light passes the paint would just run right down the boxes. After letting it sit and dry for about 4 days I tried to sand all the paint off but all it did was clog up the sandpaper and leave scratches in the surface. I don't know if I should have let it sit longer maybe but lesson learned - don't use the 2in1 paints. It worked ok on flat surfaces - like my test piece - but not on vertical.

Next I tried some Duplicolor automotive paint and did a primer and top coat - turned out much better except you can see all the scratches and flaws in the old paint that I couldn't sand off. Oh well - at least I know what to do next time :) Moral of the story is don't rush the job (I'm pretty impatient when it comes to some things) and don't buy the 2in1 paints. Now off to work on the crosssover design for this speaker. Hopefully my veneer shows up tomorrow and I can get these wrapped up.

Comments

• edited March 2022

I don't know what you did to link those images, but it ain't right..let me fix that for you. In the order you posted above:

The 2x paint is a "quick fix" type of product, I don't think it was ever intended for fine furniture. I've used it before and didn't have any major issues but it does come out heavy and fast.