Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

GRS 8SW-4HE Little Beasts!

edited August 2023 in DIY

I scored one of these at the PE garage sale and threw it on the DATS V3. I'm still new to using the DATS but this is what I came up with:

Messing about in winISD. It is nice and sedate in .7cf sealed configuration (.707 Q F3 ~40hz), but with bass reflex/PR it will seriously unleash the beast! Seems hard to tame :o

Trying to use the Menards particle board shelving dimensions I managed a 13"x21"x11.5" box that encloses a quad stacked .75"x11.5" labyrinth slot port at the bottom (~44" total length) and ~.7cf enclosure volume after driver and plate amp volume. F3 27hz but nice and low sloped. At 135watts breaks past xmax at 20hz. 36hz and above over 102db at 1m.

Then I tried PRs. Sofar Ive gotten TWO 10" DS270-PRs to reach over 10mm excursion with a full 1lb (450gram) of added mass at an F3 of 24hz in 1cf. Will they even support that much weight?

Comments

• That might be a bit much for the 270 PRs. The rss265PR should do it though.

I've wondered about those and thought they'd be great....

• edited August 2023

@Wolf said:
    The rss265PR should do it though.

At 3x the price though. $270 retail for driver and PRs, oof... I imagine factoring that in has got to open up other driver options?

Since I've got the shelving boards and a plate amp from a previous tent sale, I might just try the labyrinth/folded slot port. Would be neat to try something other than just a basic box for once. And I just now realized I might be able to make all the cuts with my sliding miter saw instead of lugging the table saw out of the basement. B)

Billetkenrhodes
  • The 12" version are very, very nice subwoofers. I have no doubt the 8" will perform similarly.

I have a signature.
  • edited August 2023