Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

Cnc talk

Comments

• There are 4 versions, all mdf and acme threaded "joes 2006" which i think is like 800-1500 to build,

Hybrid which uses lead screws and extrusion with mdf plates. I think this goes for about $2500-3000

Evolution is extrusions, vwheels, rack and pinion drive and has 3/4" plate aluminum. This is about 4500-6000 depending on the base. You can use china electronics to get the cost down but i have no experience with them and have been looking at the reviews. 

Cncrp has 2 plug and play electronics kits 1600 (nema23) and 2550 (nema34). 

I can send a cost break down of the joes but the plans are watermarked with my name and he askes not to distribute them. 
  • the cost break down is good enough for now. Does joe's uses CNC Router parts or generic ones? any particular benefit you see in Joe's over CNC RP?
  • I see people prefer the velox zaxis over the cncrp in some forums. If you were going to the pro version lf cncrouter parts the joes is cheaper but you end up doing a ton of labor. Drilling and tapping a bunch of holes in steel and aluminum (like 300 holes) its not a kit so you have to order everything from different venders. In my cost breakdown joes has a welded steel base and going from a 4x4 to a 4x8 is about a 200-300 dollar difference. The base kit from cncrp is about 500-800 dollars on top of their machine. I estimated a 4x4 cncrp pro kit is about 6500 or so. Vs 5300 for joes.