Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

Cheap, simple tube linestage

Comments

• Interesting. Failure to put a cap on the input is significant. If there is any DC offset coming from the previous device (phone output, phono preamp output, etc.), then that offset will upset the biasing of the 6J1 tube. This is one of the reasons that old tube amplifiers with leaky coupling caps often have burned out tubes and transformer primaries. Over biased tubes due to DC leaking through the coupling caps.

• edited March 24

Searching around a bit for schematics it seems not too uncommon to find the first stage tube on power amps to not have an input cap? IDK, I'm still a toob noob.

• edited March 24

With the single ended topology that we are talking about here, the cap has to be there somewhere. Either at the output of the previous stage or the input of the first stage. Most other devices would probably have a coupling cap at the output, which is probably why they skipped the input cap.

• edited March 25

As you suggested, and from what I can tell from looking at the board, it looks like they are using a regulated, single rail supply. Those look like 130V and 120V zener diodes connected in series, so my guess is a tightly regulated 250vdc supply. The tube filaments are connected in parallel and given a tightly regulated 6VDC. This is a big improvement over the other board, which connects the two filaments in series with half wave rectification and little filtering. This not only results in a very uneven filament voltage division between the two tubes, but passes alot of ripple onto the ground traces. The overall grounding scheme appears to be alot better as well. It is not a true star grounding scheme, but as long as B+ and filament ground return currents do not flow through the signal input ground return traces, you should be OK.