Please review the site Rules, Terms of Service, and Privacy Policy at your convenience. Rules, TOS, Privacy
Get familiar with the reaction system: Introducing the Reaction System

InDIYana 2022; "Missing Link" theme announcement....

Comments

• If I choose to join in this fun competition I will be building my xo's in a pair of matching cigar boxes. I did that before with my "Trials" project and those free boxes were quite nice to work with. They now charge $2 each for the cigar boxes...

• Very cool, Craig!

Heads up- I was able to find a case of 75x Wago lever-nuts on ebay for less than $20, and I think I will really like these! I'll likely build my xover with these, as it's temporary, but solid.

• I've been using those Wago lever-nuts for about 10 years now and have never had a single issue with them. They are a great product and that sounds like a great price. 3 position?

• Dang, never seen those nifty little buggers!

• After multiple issues with stupid alligators, I switched to lever nuts some time ago an never looked back. They have surprising clamping force and don't have any potential for short circuits as you dangle them off your sketchy ball of wires and components.

Alligators just don't have enough clamping force and often make poor surface contact. I've measured as much as 0.5 ohm drop from them, unreliable and inconsistent for circuits where 0.5 ohm makes a significant difference.

I'm not deaf, I'm just not listening.
  • I only used 'gators in prototyping, and never have I taken something to an event with one attached. Mine I made with the clips and soldered, never store-purchased units.

• I'll bring one of my Wego lever nuts to Grand Rapids tomorrow for anyone interested to see/feel/play with.

• FWIW, I'll have one of the 'Missing Links' present as well...

• I just got a bunch of different level nuts recently and was excited to post something about them since I hadn't seen them before. Good to know I'm only about 10 years behind the curve.